Candidates for Edinburgh’s five UK Parliamentary constituencies confirmed

Polling Station

The full list of candidates standing in Edinburgh’s five constituencies for the UK Parliament General Election on 4 July has been finalised.

Applications closed at 4pm this afternoon.

The nominated candidates for each constituency are listed below and on the Council website.

Edinburgh East and Musselburgh:

Scottish Liberal Democrats – DUNDAS, Charles

Independent – GOULD, Jane Mackenzie

Scottish Greens – GRIMM, Amanda Faye

Scottish Conservative and Unionist – MUNRO, Marie-Clair

Scottish Labour Party – MURRAY, Chris

Scottish National Party (SNP) – SHEPPARD, Tommy

Reform UK – WINTON, Derek Steven

Edinburgh North and Leith:

Scottish Liberal Democrats – ANDERSEN, Mike

Scottish National Party (SNP) – BROCK, Deidre

Scottish Family Party – Defending Traditional Values – DEEPNARAIN, Niel

Scottish Labour Party – GILBERT, Tracy

Socialist Labour Party – JACOBSEN, David Don

Reform UK – MELVILLE, Alan Gordon

Scottish Conservative and Unionist – MOWAT, Joanna

Scottish Greens – O’NEILL, Kayleigh Ferguson

Communist Party of Britain – SHILLCOCK, Richard Charles

Independent – WATERLOO, Caroline

Edinburgh South:

Scottish Conservative and Unionist – COWDY, Christopher

Scottish Family Party - Promoting Traditional Values – HOLDEN, Phil

Scottish National Party (SNP) – KUMAR, Simita

Alba Party: Yes to Scottish Independence – LYON, Lynne

Independent – MARTIN, Alex

Scottish Labour Party – MURRAY, Ian

Scottish Greens – PHILLIPS, JO

Reform UK – ROSE, Cameron

Independent – ROWBOTHAM, Mark

Scottish Liberal Democrats – WILLIAMSON, Andy

Edinburgh South West:

Scottish Labour Party – ARTHUR, Scott

Scottish National Party (SNP) – CHERRY, Joanna

Reform UK – HARPER, Ian

Scottish Greens – HEAP, Dan

Scottish Family Party – LUCAS, Richard Crewe

Scottish Conservative and Unionist – WEBBER, Sue

Independent – WILKINSON, Marc Richard

Scottish Liberal Democrats – WILSON, Bruce Roy

Edinburgh West:

Scottish Labour Party – DAVIDSON, Michael Colin

Independent – HENRY, David

Independent – HORNIG, Nick

Scottish National Party (SNP) – HYSLOP, Euan

Reform UK – INGLIS, Otto

Scottish Liberal Democrats – JARDINE, Christine Anne

Scottish Libertarian Party – LAIRD, Tam

Scottish Greens – PUCHOWSKI, James Konrad

Scottish Conservative and Unionist – SHIELDS, Alastair

Returning Officer for Edinburgh, Andrew Kerr said:

Today marks one step closer to the Capital going to the polls, and we now crucially know who our residents will have the opportunity to vote for on 4 July.  

We want everyone to be able to exercise their democratic right and vote in this General Election. Due to its timing, we’re expecting increased demand for postal and proxy votes and I’d encourage everyone to make the appropriate arrangements as soon as possible – whether that’s registering to vote, applying for different ways to vote or ensuring they have the correct photo ID.

I want to thank our colleagues who are working hard to ensure this election runs smoothly and efficiently for the people of Edinburgh.

Detailed advice on registering to vote, the use of postal and proxy votes and other guidance is available on the Council’s website.

This is the first General Election where voters must show a form of photo identification (ID) to cast their ballot. A list of approved forms of ID and information on how to obtain a free voter ID are also available on the website.

Published: June 7th 2024